Relief

Healing is wonderful… especially when you realize that the past is past. Below is an excerpt from a daily devotional that I get in my e-mail every day. It very much applies to how I felt last Friday when brought in contact with reminders of hurtful previous situations.

I recently encountered a situation that brought back memories of some past hurtful events. However, I found that I did not feel as hurt as I had back then. In reality, the wrongs others had inflicted on me had done little real harm; nevertheless, those hurtful actions had been very distressing at the time. Commenting to my wife about the past, I said, “You know, it really doesn’t matter anymore.”
To which she responded, “It really never did.”
I responded, “Yes, I know. But now it doesn’t matter to me.” At that moment I realized that God had brought healing to my broken heart.
Wounds of the heart are unique to the person who suffers them. Some hurts we suffer are deeper than others, but every wound affects us. Sometimes the wound doesn’t heal quickly. Sometimes we recover without a scar, and sometimes the scar left behind seems never to disappear. Even when others tell us that it shouldn’t matter, it may still matter to us. But in every situation, if we turn to Christ, we will find that he still heals broken hearts.

Leave a comment